Michele Terry

Success Story | Nov 08, 2023

SUCCESS STORY

Featuring: Michele Terry

GREETINGS MICHELE

Michele is a Certified Pilates Instructor and owner of Pilates in the Loft. Being a ballet dancer, she has always had a fitful life, but never dreamed she would be a Pilates instructor, let alone, the owner of a fitness business. She has very strong faith, and when God opened the Pilates door, she trusted him and went for it.

Michele is a true 321 native, born and raised in West Melbourne. She attended Meadowlane Elementary, Central Middle School, and graduated from Melbourne High School. She continued her education at Florida State University where she earned a degree in Early Childhood Development. After teaching 3rd grade for two years and then Kindergarten for one year, she decided teaching just wasn’t for her.

She met her husband, Scott, at church and started a family. After the birth of their first child, the decision to quit teaching and be a stay-at-home mom was an easy one. Her and Scott have three children. Taking care of the kids as well as being the minister’s wife, kept her busy. She is involved in helping with the ministry too.

Michele and Scott attended a Recspo Christian Conference where they learned how Christians can incorporate sports and fitness in their ministries. During a breakout session, she learned about Pilates! The woman who was teaching the session was from Oklahoma Baptist University and she was teaching how she used Pilates and other exercise classes to reach out to the community.

Pilates was never on Michele’s radar, heck she had never even done Pilates! Having a background in ballet, she found dance and Pilates correlate well and a lot of instructors are current dancers themselves or have a dance background, like her! She decided to step out of her comfort zone and go for it!

After getting her instructors certificate from Oklahoma Baptist University, she started teaching one-hour classes once a week at church. Then Covid hit and as we all know, everything came to a halt! But Michele didn’t let that stop her, she thought outside the box, and started teaching Pilates through online classes.

During what some people would call the ‘down time’ of the pandemic, Michele amped up her Pilates business and got certified in even more techniques. She now is certified in Balance Body Pilates, extensive mat, and Reformer Pilates. In January 2021, she officially turned her love for Pilates into a business, Pilates in the Loft. She offers private training, as well as online classes, free sessions at the church, and sessions throughout the community on a donation basis. She loves giving back to the community and introducing people to the world of Pilates. She has found success as an instructor and operating her business.

ENJOY MICHELE’S RESPONSES

TOP 3 BUSINESS TIPS

Relationships are key
I enjoy the personalization of what I do. It would be easy and lucrative for me, to just start doing a bunch of YouTube videos, but I like the connections I have with my clients. Offering a video to the masses doesn’t allow me to meet the needs of the individual. In my private lessons as well as my classes, I get to know my clients and what their needs are, as well as their life circumstances. Based on that knowledge, I can personalize their routines and adapt based on what they are going through at any given time. I enjoy staying connected to my clients. That’s truly my heart and why I do it.

Give it a good go
Not everything is going to go as planned. If something isn’t happening, don’t see it as a failure, get passed that, and learn from it. What worked and what didn’t work, adjust along the way. Don’t panic in the moment, pause, and ask yourself, why didn’t this work and what can I do differently. Don’t think of anything as a failure, but rather as an opportunity to grow.

Let things happen organically
I didn’t know what it was going to look like when I started. I just started out by putting it out there, and word-of-mouth from one client to the next. Allowed it time to grow. Nothing is going to spontaneously explode. Allow time to collect testimonials and recommendations and give time for people to share with someone else. Be patient and don’t get too far ahead of yourself. Let it happen.

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT

More Business Minded. I don’t consider myself a “business person.” I’m naturally more of an introvert, and don’t feel the need to push on people. I wish I was more vocal, get out of my shell and be more business minded in general.

One weakness I try to help my clients overcome is that “I can’t do something” mind set. Not everyone is going to look the same or will be able to do the same movements as someone else. Your 100% may look completely different than someone else’s 100% and that’s ok!

INSPIRATION BEHIND THE JOURNEY

When I started this business journey, my faith played in active role in it. I really felt God spoke to me at the conference and opened this door, which I never would have considered opening before. I don’t feel I really would have the courage to do it otherwise, but it was my faith that gave me the push to initially go for it!

I think now my inspiration is the day-to-day aspect of it all. I enjoy the feedback I receive from the women I help. When a client tells me they have more confidence in themselves and walks away from a session feeling better and an improved mood, not necessarily stronger, makes me happy. I’m energized by when people leave me to go about their day, they are leaving as a better person, wife, worker, or whatever hat they wear. I’m inspired by the personal aspect of it and being able to give someone the tools they need to succeed.

I am honored and humbled as the ladies keep coming back to me. People tell me I have the gift. I hear them and that’s when I realize God gifted me with it, I don’t feel any better than anyone else, other than it’s truly an honor.

FINAL THOUGHTS

Recognize what your talents and gifts are. There is no need to be arrogant, but rather use them to encourage others. Don’t make it about you and have a look at me mentality. Think of it more in the way of, how can I come aside you and encourage you to succeed.

Things don’t happen overnight, there is a process, enjoy the journey. Be Ok when things don’t work out and be super excited when they do. Celebrate the victories! Give back to your community.

From a fitness aspect, I always encourage people to do what you can, when you can. You might only have 10 minutes in your day, if so, do something with those 10 minutes, anything. Can be first thing in the morning, lunch, during a break, in the evening. If something goes awry and something comes up, do it when you can…no excuses.

THANK YOU MICHELE

Thank you, Michele, for sharing with my readers how you found success as an entrepreneur in the fitness world. To my readers, I hope you learned from Michele it’s imperative to build RELATIONSHIPS with your clients, FAILURE isn’t failure, but an opportunity for growth, and to trust the process and allow things to happen ORGANICALLY.

Please check out Michele’s website for more information on the classes and private trainings she offers… could make for a GREAT Christmas gift for someone special! Don’t forget to Subscribe to her monthly Newsletter while your there. Also visit her Facebook & Instagram pages and give them a like!

TOP 10

Everyday Habits That Help You To Stay Active

Just like Michele suggested, DO SOMETHING, even if it’s just for 10 minutes during the day! Here are some helpful tips from Verywell Fit to do just that:

  1. Try a Standup or Walking Meeting

  2. Keep Up with Housework

  3. Get Up During Commercials

  4. Move at a Consistent Time

  5. Motivate Your Exercise with Entertainment

  6. Move to the Music

  7. Match Your Activity to the Environment

  8. Take the Long Route

  9. Start Your Day with a Stretch

  10. Get the Family (or Pets) Involved

Click for more details:
Verywell Fit

ATHLETES

No Excuses

As an athlete, your goal each and every day should be to become better than you were the day before. In order to do that, you train…no excuses! You train because you LOVE the sport you play. Training shouldn’t be considered disciplinary action or because you ‘have’ to, it should be because you want to…you want to get better! You should look forward to it each and every day. I say that because a champion never has off days! You may consider an ‘off day’ as a non-physical day or letting your body rest, but those days can be used for mindful activity, and the mental aspect of the game, light walks or stretching day. A champion is always doing something, to better their game!

Champions Never Complain,
They Are Too Busy Getting Better.

John Wooden

PARENTS

Teaching Kids How To Handle Failure

Let’s face it, at one time or another, your child is going to fail at something, whether it be sports, getting a bad grade in school, a failed relationship, and so on. Don’t let them deal with these failures on their own. Teach them it’s not a perfect world, they aren’t going to ‘win’ at everything, but if they can turn their failures into learning experiences, then there’s the win. Instill in them not to be afraid of failure. Of course, always try their best, but when their best just might not be good enough, learn from it and move on. Life is about growing and sometimes growth comes from not getting it right the first time!

LIFE

Take Time For Yourself

Life is crazy, and sometimes we get way too caught up in the hustle of it! This is why it’s important to cut out time for yourself, doesn’t have to be an all-day affair. Maybe a brisk walk in the morning to start your day! Do you have a dog, because if you do, I know they would LOVE to spend that time with you. After a long workday, instead of jumping in the shower, relax in a bath. Have a break during the day and find yourself by the ocean or water of some sort, go sit and just watch the waves crash or ducks swim around a pond. Like to read, carve out a 30-minute read session. Whatever you enjoy doing to slow down for a bit, do it! Not only will your body and mind thank you, but others will probably thank you too! Sometimes our go-go-go’s affect our moods towards others without us knowing it. So, relax those shoulders, take some deep breaths, and…take time for yourself, the world can wait!

Join the conversation

or to participate.